Skip to content
December 5, 2012 / innovationinitiator

The Art of Conversation

The art of conversation is more about listening than about talking.

 

Did that sound too obvious? Over the last 40 years of talking and listening to people (ok, maybe the last 30 since I was able to understand language), I realized today that I really had this art of conversation figured out all wrong.

Rubina and I spent the day today in conversation with a close friend and entrepreneur who was contributing to the Leadership Insights series and I realized that for the first time, I was listening to the person and not just talking to him.

Among the multiple stories and tipping points that Vijay shared with us, his battles with perceptions and discovery of mentors/teachers taught me a lot about me and the opportunities at hand.

How often have we taken offense at the way the other person was dressed or talked or stood or talked and refused to connect with the person behind that facade?

To hear more about Vijay Mane’s stories and to connect with other leaders and entrepreneurs, subscribe to this blog or write to me.

Till my next conversation…

Leave a Reply

